Covered

coveredToday I found this amazing photo of a Father bird standing over the Momma bird and nest protecting them from the rain.

Look at the fierceness in his face as he protects.  I know some of it is facial structure and angles. That’s how I feel Holy Spirit is with us.  Covering us. I love that BBC America posted this pic on their fb page, I love birds, love seeing them fly, the other day as a matter of fact, I was driving down a side road between my place and the parents, and there is a gully-ditch thing with the protective barrier fencing, and there was a hawk clear as day and less than like 10 feet away from me… those things are huge, and he was almost on the ground searching out food.  Poor little squirrels 😦 ..

Psalms 91:4  He will cover you with His feathers; you will take refuge under His wings. His faithfulness will be a protective shield.

Deuteronomy 32:11 “Like an eagle that stirs up its nest, That hovers over its young, He spread His wings and caught them, He carried them on His pinions.

Psalm 17:8 Keep me as the apple of the eye; Hide me in the shadow of Your wings

Psalm 36:7 How precious is Your loving-kindness, O God! And the children of men take refuge in the shadow of Your wings

Psalm 61:4 Let me dwell in Your tent forever; Let me take refuge in the shelter of Your wings. Selah

Psalm 57:1  Be gracious to me, O God, be gracious to me, For my soul takes refuge in You; And in the shadow of Your wings I will take refuge Until destruction passes by.

The last verse, about taking refuge until destruction passes by, reminds me of a story I once heard. There was a worship leader and he was talking about going to a friends’ farm after their barn had burned down and was helping him to survey the damage.  He saw a pile of something, looking like really rags, maybe feathers, and he kicked the pile, and when he did, all these little baby chicks came running out.  They had been gathered by their momma, and she gave her life protecting them under her wings. They were not consumed by the destruction.  I still bawl and scrawl when I think about the love of that momma hen protecting her babies even in death.

How much more so does our Father protect us? I remember one time when I was younger, I worked at a grocery store.  I was really bad about keeping more money in my till then I was supposed to, and I always had decided that I would close my drawer and lock it if I was ever accosted.  I probably would have been shot.  At the very least, because I wasn’t conforming to company policy, would have been fired.  Anyway, I was young, stupid (invincible) but God was protecting me.  I honestly don’t remember all those shoppers in my store, but suddenly, I had at least 2 large baskets, and a couple of smaller purchases, so much so that the night manager came up, opened a drawer and helped me check out everyone before we closed for the evening.  A few minutes after locking the door, one of the customers (one that I saw every week, I knew his face) came knocking and asked to use the phone, because he had been robbed.  He had used a rather large bill to pay, and because I was so busy, the ones that would have robbed me, saw that as an alternative opportunity, He handed it all over so he was safe.  I knew then that God had protected me.  A part of me still thinks some of those customers were actually angels, because I honestly did not see them walk in the door, or walking through the store.

Most of my life, although I knew God, I didn’t always feel His presence, or even seek it, it just wasn’t really taught to us that way.

I have heard other amazing stories that actually rival Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego in the fiery furnace.  Even the Apostle John couldn’t be boiled in oil, so he was exiled. Our own President George Washington was said to have been shot at several times during a battle, an Indian Chief was witness to it, could even see where there were bullet holes in our Founding Father’s coat, but, he was unharmed.  And the Chief refused to fight him anymore, because he knew God’s hand was on him.

I really want to segue into how under His protective wing we should, like the momma bird, likewise shelter others, but I am finding difficulty, so I think I will leave that until another time.  Because I have some really strong feelings about that subject.

Love ya!

 

Leave a Reply

